Jump to content


Photo

Windows 7 beta


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 m1a1mg

m1a1mg

    Crew

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 6,803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charleston, SC

Posted 09 January 2009 - 1102 AM

Windows 7 beta is available for the first 2.5 mil that feel lucky.

http://technet.micro...r/dd353205.aspx
  • 0

#2 Archie Pellagio

Archie Pellagio

    Now flouridating a water source near YOU!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montpelier, Vermont
  • Interests:Vermonter global conquest rampages!

Posted 13 January 2009 - 1217 PM

ANy takers?
  • 0

#3 rmgill

rmgill

    Strap-hanger

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,739 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:33.8369/-84.2675
  • Interests:WWII Armor, Ferrets, Dingos, Humbers, etc...

Posted 13 January 2009 - 1218 PM

Posted Image
  • 0

#4 JamesR

JamesR

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 691 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, TX
  • Interests:Military hardware, Shooting, Reloading, Computers, Astronomy

Posted 13 January 2009 - 1720 PM

I grabbed both ISOs but haven't installed it yet. I am collecting the parts for a new system and will try it out once the system is built. I have everything I need except the motherboard and cpu, just waiting for the right combo deal at fry's.

One question, I saw somewhere that the beta is only good until August. Does that mean the os will deactivate or go into a reduced mode after August?
  • 0

#5 DKTanker

DKTanker

    1strdhit

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,494 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas

Posted 13 January 2009 - 1822 PM

One question, I saw somewhere that the beta is only good until August. Does that mean the os will deactivate or go into a reduced mode after August?

Question #2. For those that do download and install the beta, and presumably give feedback to MS, will they be able to upgrade to the final release gratis?

Edit: Question answered under FAQ. sorry/no

Answer to your question. They recommend you reinstall your previous OS prior to 1/8/09.

Edited by DKTanker, 13 January 2009 - 1835 PM.

  • 0

#6 m1a1mg

m1a1mg

    Crew

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 6,803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charleston, SC

Posted 13 January 2009 - 2013 PM

Vista beta worked until the official release came out. M$ is supposedly planning a July release.
  • 0

#7 m1a1mg

m1a1mg

    Crew

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 6,803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charleston, SC

Posted 14 January 2009 - 1206 PM

I'm running it dual boot with Vista. I haven't found anything that makes it that different.
  • 0

#8 jakec

jakec

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:No fixed abode

Posted 14 January 2009 - 1620 PM

Installed it on a laptop as main OS. Nice quick (upgrade) install. All progs and devices worked OK after install, except dodgy touchpad. Of course the real test would be to install it on my older laptop which only has 1G memory and which I took Vista off in favour of XP because Vista was too slow. I wonder if 7 would work better?
  • 0

#9 DesertFox

DesertFox

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 4,489 posts
  • Interests:Military History, Role Playing Games, Science Fiction

Posted 14 January 2009 - 2240 PM

Window 7 is suppose to require a gig of ram
  • 0

#10 Ivanhoe

Ivanhoe

    purposeful grimace

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 31,976 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:deep in the heart of ... darkness, USA
  • Interests:military technology, military history, weapon systems, management/organizational design, early American history

Posted 15 January 2009 - 1026 AM

Installed it on a laptop as main OS. Nice quick (upgrade) install. All progs and devices worked OK after install, except dodgy touchpad. Of course the real test would be to install it on my older laptop which only has 1G memory and which I took Vista off in favour of XP because Vista was too slow. I wonder if 7 would work better?


Which touchpad; Synaptics by chance?
  • 0

#11 jakec

jakec

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:No fixed abode

Posted 15 January 2009 - 1535 PM

Which touchpad; Synaptics by chance?

No, Taiwanese AVC.
  • 0

#12 Lampshade111

Lampshade111

    Armchair Admiral

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 2,082 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 January 2009 - 0256 AM

Anybody know how the 64 bit edition compares in memory usage to the 64 bit edition of Vista.

Edited by Lampshade111, 17 January 2009 - 0256 AM.

  • 0

#13 Fritz

Fritz

    Master of Panzer

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7,598 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:WW2, armoured combat history, 3D CGI, motorsports

Posted 17 January 2009 - 1038 AM

I have not used Vista. However I have win 7 x64 running right now and with only firefox and skype open, the memory usage is 1.4GB :)
  • 0

#14 m1a1mg

m1a1mg

    Crew

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 6,803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charleston, SC

Posted 31 January 2009 - 2110 PM

I like this OS. Runs faster than Vista on my machine. Only drawback I can really find is the IE 8 sucks.
  • 0

#15 RIPper

RIPper

    Junior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 445 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Prague, Czech Republic
  • Interests:tanks, doh

Posted 01 February 2009 - 0551 AM

which IE does not suck? ;)
  • 0

#16 DesertFox

DesertFox

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 4,489 posts
  • Interests:Military History, Role Playing Games, Science Fiction

Posted 01 February 2009 - 1217 PM

Is Windows 7 only a 64 bit operating system and can only be operated on dual core and later operating system?
  • 0

#17 m1a1mg

m1a1mg

    Crew

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 6,803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charleston, SC

Posted 01 February 2009 - 1231 PM

Windows 7 Requirements Leaked.
For the Basic Windows 7
* 1 GHz 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor
* 512 MB of system memory
* 20 GB hard drive with at least 15 GB of available space
* Support for DirectX 9 graphics and 32 MB of graphics memory
* DVD-ROM drive
* Audio Output
* Internet access

For the Premium Windows 7
* 1 GHz 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor
* 1 GB of system memory
* 40 GB hard drive with at least 15 GB of available space
* Support for DirectX 9 graphics with:
o WDDM Driver
o 128 MB of graphics memory (minimum)
o Pixel Shader 2.0 in hardware
o 32 bits per pixel
* DVD-ROM drive
* Audio Output
* Internet access



EDIT: Wanted to add that MS has supposedly taken Win 7 beta down due to overwhelming response.

Edited by m1a1mg, 01 February 2009 - 1232 PM.

  • 0

#18 Fritz

Fritz

    Master of Panzer

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7,598 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:WW2, armoured combat history, 3D CGI, motorsports

Posted 04 February 2009 - 2220 PM

I've been on the win 7 beta for the past 2-3 weeks and I'm not going back to XP. I'll be running this beta till the release comes out.
  • 0

#19 Archie Pellagio

Archie Pellagio

    Now flouridating a water source near YOU!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montpelier, Vermont
  • Interests:Vermonter global conquest rampages!

Posted 07 February 2009 - 0216 AM

I've been on the win 7 beta for the past 2-3 weeks and I'm not going back to XP. I'll be running this beta till the release comes out.


Why?

Inquiring minds wish to know... ;)
  • 0

#20 Colin

Colin

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,813 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, Canada
  • Interests:tanks, old and new AFV's, Landrovers, diving, hovercrafts

Posted 10 February 2009 - 1838 PM

I am still healing my wounds from using vista, thanks but no thanks.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users