Jump to content


Photo

Chrome Vs Windows 10


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 JWB

JWB

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7,211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:everything (almost)

Posted 20 January 2018 - 1242 PM

After downloading it the computer puts up a list of app to open the file:

Internet Explorer

Note Pad

Office XML Handler

Paint

Windows Media Player

Word 2016

Word Pad

Look for another app on this PC

 

When I click IE the screen will flash then the down load folder simply adds another ChromeSetup_exe to the list. I now have four of them in the folder. What am I missing?


  • 0

#2 nabqrules

nabqrules

    Crew

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arizona
  • Interests:Photography, Astronomy, Computers, Gaming, Military History...

Posted 20 January 2018 - 1316 PM

Ok, what appears to be going on is .exe files are not opening right.  I'm going to link to you two pages. One is for tenforums which is where a file will be linked for your verification, and the next will be the link for the actual file to save you some work.

 

https://www.tenforum...ndows-10-a.htmlscroll down, you are looking for exe in that list and you can download it from the page

 

OR,

 

 Click on this one and download the file directly.

 

https://www.tenforum...ws-10-a-exe.reg

 

Once you download it, double click on the file and it will ask you if you want to run it. Click run.

 

Then you will get a prompt about "Adding information can unintentionally change or delete values...."  going ahead and click yes. Once that's done you need to restart your computer.. That should resolve your issue.


Edited by nabqrules, 20 January 2018 - 1317 PM.

  • 0

#3 JWB

JWB

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7,211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:everything (almost)

Posted 20 January 2018 - 1334 PM

Ok, what appears to be going on is .exe files are not opening right.  I'm going to link to you two pages. One is for tenforums which is where a file will be linked for your verification, and the next will be the link for the actual file to save you some work.

 

https://www.tenforum...ndows-10-a.htmlscroll down, you are looking for exe in that list and you can download it from the page

 

OR,

 

 Click on this one and download the file directly.

 

https://www.tenforum...ws-10-a-exe.reg

 

Once you download it, double click on the file and it will ask you if you want to run it. Click run.

 

Then you will get a prompt about "Adding information can unintentionally change or delete values...."  going ahead and click yes. Once that's done you need to restart your computer.. That should resolve your issue.

Downloading that file did the same thing as downloading the Chrome and Firefox. It popped up that list then added a repeat downloaded file.


  • 0

#4 nabqrules

nabqrules

    Crew

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arizona
  • Interests:Photography, Astronomy, Computers, Gaming, Military History...

Posted 20 January 2018 - 1443 PM

I'll try to help you get unstuck, Middle of work (which this is exactly what I do is get people's PC's unstuck) . If you're comfortable following Microsoft's instructions on the following  you can try it.

 

https://support.micr...ta-or-windows-7


  • 0

#5 Murph

Murph

    Hierophant Lord

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,214 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 January 2018 - 1824 PM

Ten forums is super helpful.


  • 0

#6 nabqrules

nabqrules

    Crew

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arizona
  • Interests:Photography, Astronomy, Computers, Gaming, Military History...

Posted 21 January 2018 - 1317 PM

jwb do you know how to reset internet explorer? if not i'll give you directions.


  • 0

#7 JWB

JWB

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7,211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:everything (almost)

Posted 21 January 2018 - 1606 PM

jwb do you know how to reset internet explorer? if not i'll give you directions.

Yes, settings>internet options>advanced>reset. Now when I try to load Firefox Notepad opens.


  • 0

#8 nabqrules

nabqrules

    Crew

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arizona
  • Interests:Photography, Astronomy, Computers, Gaming, Military History...

Posted 21 January 2018 - 1825 PM

ok, go

 

 

jwb do you know how to reset internet explorer? if not i'll give you directions.

Yes, settings>internet options>advanced>reset. Now when I try to load Firefox Notepad opens.

 

 

 

try start-settings, the crappy win10 settings, not control panel, go to apps, and default apps, and you should have an option to 'reset to the microsoft recommended defaults'

 

that will reset all the program defaults.


  • 0

#9 JWB

JWB

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7,211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:everything (almost)

Posted 22 January 2018 - 1335 PM

Did all that and no change. Time to take the machine to the geek squad?


  • 0

#10 nabqrules

nabqrules

    Crew

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arizona
  • Interests:Photography, Astronomy, Computers, Gaming, Military History...

Posted 22 January 2018 - 1438 PM

Did all that and no change. Time to take the machine to the geek squad?

 

Yeah at this point you'll need a face in front of it to get it resolved. Don't like the geek squad but that's just because the local one is horrid and they screw up stuff which helps business where I work. If there's a local shop that has a good reputation I would recommend that first.


Edited by nabqrules, 22 January 2018 - 1439 PM.

  • 0

#11 CT96

CT96

    Deputy Assistant Secretary to the Dragon Slayer Apprentice

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 3,624 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern Virginia
  • Interests:Miltary History, Geopolitics, Computers

Posted 22 January 2018 - 1442 PM

 

Did all that and no change. Time to take the machine to the geek squad?

 

Yeah at this point you'll need a face in front of it to get it resolved. Don't like the geek squad but that's just because the local one is horrid and they screw up stuff which helps business where I work. If there's a local shop that has a good reputation I would recommend that first.

 

+1

 

A local shop or a competent friend will get you out of this much faster and better than geek squad, if those are options. 


  • 0

#12 JWB

JWB

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7,211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:everything (almost)

Posted 22 January 2018 - 1611 PM

I got the machine a few days ago and it is still under warranty.  I don't want to take it over to the near by O.D. because I won't have access to it but I don't really have a choice now.


  • 0

#13 JWB

JWB

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7,211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:everything (almost)

Posted 23 January 2018 - 2026 PM

Quick what is wrong with this:

 

"ChromeSetup_exe"     


  • 0

#14 nabqrules

nabqrules

    Crew

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Arizona
  • Interests:Photography, Astronomy, Computers, Gaming, Military History...

Posted 23 January 2018 - 2135 PM

your '.' is an '_'


Edited by nabqrules, 23 January 2018 - 2136 PM.

  • 0

#15 JWB

JWB

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 7,211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:everything (almost)

Posted 23 January 2018 - 2314 PM

your '.' is an '_'

Yep. That underscore rendered the command invalid. Replacing it with a "dot" create a valid command. I suspect Microsoft coded Win10 to do that as a deterrent against competing  browsers.


  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users