• Please log in to reply
87 replies to this topic

#1 Rick

Rick

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 2,383 posts

Posted 10 October 2017 - 1831 PM

The chances of success if the Germans invade Spain to capture Gibraltar after the defeat of France in 1940? Assuming no Battle of Britain. As a historical novice, I was wondering. What I've read so far is a definite maybe.
Thank you.

#2 R011

R011

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 5,259 posts

Posted 10 October 2017 - 1918 PM

The eventual result would probably be a Soviet aligned Communist Spain at the end of the war once partisans take over like Yugoslavia, only closer to Moscow. Taking Gibraltar, if they can, would have a minimal effect on the war as the Med was closed to trade for most of it.

#3 Stuart Galbraith

Stuart Galbraith

Welcome to the new world disorder

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 40,249 posts

Posted 11 October 2017 - 0152 AM

It would have made a great difference IMHO. Whilst trade to India might have been interrupted, it was the quickest way to get arms and fuel to Malta and North Africa. If that route had been interrupted, quite likely we would have lost both, and Germany would have access to all the fuel it ever needed. We would have had to go the long way around via the cape, and with the merchant crisis being what it was in 1941/2, we could easily have run out of ships.

Look at the route of Operation Pedestal and you will see what I mean.

http://news.bbc.co.u...ope/2289714.stm

Though im not overlooking the lethality of Spanish partisans. They were an unwelcome surprise to Napoleon, and with all the skills honed in the civil war, im doubting much would have changed.

#4 RETAC21

RETAC21

A la lealtad y al valor

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 12,235 posts
  • Interests:Military history in general

Posted 11 October 2017 - 0251 AM

Gibraltar would have fell 100% for sure, but the key here is whether the Germans enter Spain as allies or as enemies.